+ Curriculum & Instruction
+ Student Services

« previous

May, 2016

next »
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
February 13, 2013
RMHS Principal named 2013 North Central Regional Principal of the Year

View Video of Ceremony Honoring Mr. Leon Farrow 

Leon Farrow, principal of Rocky Mount High School, was caught by surprise Tuesday during a special ceremony naming him the 2013 Wells Fargo North Central Region Principal of the Year.
Farrow shared reflections and tears upon receiving his recognition.

He discussed overcoming numerous obstacles to complete his education and eventually become an educator.

"I'm truly humbled and honored to receive this," Farrow said. "If you know my story, then you understand the passion that I have for working with students."

Drew Cook, 2012 Wells Fargo North Central Principal of the Year, made the presentation as Farrow's family joined him in the school's Black Box Theater.

Other special guests included Malinda Pennington, 2012 North Central Teacher of the Year, Carrie Gray representing Wells Fargo, and Erika Murphy-Newkirk, representing the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.

Representatives from the Nash-Rocky Mount Board of Education, Rocky Mount Chamber of Commerce, Rocky Mount Police Department, Nash County Commissioners, United Way, Boys and Girls Club, and Nash Community College were also on hand for the event.

Students, teachers, community leaders, and fellow school administrators cheered as Farrow received a special plaque and other gifts commemorating his award.


Click here to view more photos from the celebration event 

Nash-Rocky Mount Public Schools Superintendent, Dr. Anthony Jackson, congratulated Farrow for his outstanding leadership.

"Mr. Farrow is a true champion for children. He understands the importance of strong teaching to facilitate the learning process, and he's committed to providing the best possible environment for students every day," said Jackson. "We are so proud for him and Rocky Mount High School. There's no one more deserving of this recognition."

Farrow was selected North Central Region Principal of the Year among several counties including Wake, Durham, Nash, Edgecombe, Franklin, Vance, Granville, Johnson, Wilson, Halifax and Northampton.

The 2013 North Carolina Principal of the Year will be recognized in May.