Department Overview

  • NRMPS Public Information Department Honored at NCSPRA Blue Ribbon Awards


    Nashville, NC – School public relations professionals across the state were honored on Friday, January 27, 2017 for the products of their craft during the North Carolina School Public Relations Association’s (NCSPRA) annual Blue Ribbon Awards for Effective Communications. The event was held at the O. Henry Hotel in Greensboro and 37 school districts were recognized for outstanding work with a total of 237 awards in eight categories.  The Nash-Rocky Mount Public Schools (NRMPS) Public Information Department, under the leadership of Dr. Patricia Hollingsworth, won 11 awards in the following categories:

    Digital Media Engagement

    NRMPS Facebook page – Gold Award


    Electronic Media

    ACT Take It Seriously – Bronze Award

    Nash Central HS - What's Cool About Public School – Bronze Award

    Northern Nash HS - Sportsmanship – Bronze Award



    First Day of School – Silver Award



    NRMPS Marketing Card – Silver Award

    Sounding Board Newsletter – Bronze Award

    Outstanding Educators Book – Bronze Award


    Special Events/Programs

    Superintendent's Welcome Reception – Silver Award

    2016 Evening of Academic Excellence – Silver Award

    2016 Teacher/Principal of the Year Banquet – Silver Award


    NCSPRA President Charlie Glazener, Executive Director of Community Relations & Communications for Asheville City Schools, said entries of the award winners rivaled the best work of public relations practitioners in any field.  “Blue Ribbon Awards are the highest honor in our organization and they validate the superior work done by my colleagues this year,” Glazener said.  “This roster of excellence is tangible evidence that NCSPRA's public relations professionals are among the nation’s finest and that they are producing cutting edge communications and products that support their schools and school systems.”

    Award categories included digital media engagement, electronic media, excellence in writing, image/graphic design, marketing, photography, publications (print & electronic) and special events and programs. “Best of the Best” honors were also awarded to the most outstanding entry in each category. The Georgia School Public Relations Association Board of Directors judged award entries. 

    Prior to the awards ceremony attendees heard a presentation from Keith Posten, President and Executive Director of the Public School Forum of North Carolina, entitled “Top 10 Education Issues in 2017.” W. Jeffrey Booker, Gaston County Schools Superintendent and NCSPRA Superintendent Liaison, also offered congratulatory remarks during the ceremony on behalf of the state's school superintendents.

    NCSPRA’s mission is to build support for public education through well-planned and responsible public relations. For more information visit the NCSPRA Facebook page or

    Blue Ribbon Awards

    Pictured above from left to right: Charlie Glazener – NCSPRA President, Ashlee Rogers – NRMPS Board Clerk, Ashley Denton – NRMPS District Communications Coordinator, Dr. Patricia Hollingsworth – NRMPS Chief Public Information Officer and Chris Fuller – NCSPRA Executive Director