Return to Headlines

Cedar Grove Wins NRMPS Elementary School Battle of the Books



Contact:           Dr. Patricia Hollingsworth

                        Chief Public Information Officer

                        Nash-Rocky Mount Public Schools

                        Phone: (252) 459-5220



Cedar Grove Wins NRMPS Elementary School Battle of the Books


Nashville, NC – Teams representing every elementary school in the Nash-Rocky Mount Public Schools (NRMPS) district competed in the Elementary School Battle of the Books on Tuesday, February 28, 2017 in order to crown a district winner.

Battle of the Books is a competition that requires participants to read a list of 18 books, and each team is quizzed on the list of books read. “It is very competitive and the students have worked all year for this competition,” explained Danny Plyler, NRMPS Director of Instructional Technology, who planned the event.

The winner of the event was Cedar Grove Elementary School. Cedar Grove will represent NRMPS in a Battle of the Books Regional Competition. “I am fortunate to have students who are driven by success on my team. The students worked hard preparing for this competition and hard work paves the way for success. I stressed to my students and my team that only in the dictionary you’ll find success before work,” stated Cedar Grove team coach, Melody Haynes.

“Our students have worked so hard, even during their free time, which truly shows their dedication. I am so proud of them,” stated Brad Jordan, Academically or Intellectually Gifted (AIG) teacher for Cedar Grove. “Our students have worked so hard and showed consistency through the entire competition. Practically every day, the students came to tell me about books they read and it was obvious that our media specialist, Melody Haynes, also worked very hard with them,” Dr. Tevis Harris, principal of Cedar Grove Elementary School added. Swift Creek Elementary School finished second, while Middlesex Elementary School finished third.



Pictured below: The winning Cedar Grove Elementary School Battle of the Books team

Winning team