Return to Headlines

NRMPS 2018 Evening of Academic Excellence

May 22, 2018




Contact:           Dr. Patricia Hollingsworth

                        Chief Communications Officer



NRMPS 2018 Evening of Academic Excellence


Nashville, NC – The highest achieving 120 high school seniors from across Nash-Rocky Mount Public Schools (NRMPS) came together Tuesday night, May 22, 2018 to celebrate years of hard and academic excellence. The evening began with opening remarks from chief academic officer Dr. Mark Cockrell. The NRMPS All County High School Chorus presented two musical selections under the direction of Dean Wheeler and K-12 fine arts specialist Suzanne Weaver.

After the musical selections, assistant superintendent of student placement and intervention Mr. Leondus Farrow, Jr., addressed the seniors in attendance. Mr. Farrow encouraged students by saying, “if you keep doing the same things…you cannot expect to get different results.  You must systematically connect the principles that manage and guide your plan to your vision.” 

The principal from each high school announced the names of the students who were recognized as the Superintendent's Distinguished Scholars. Student honorees walked the stage and superintendent Dr. Shelton Jefferies presented them with a trophy for their academic achievements. The night concluded with closing remarks from Board of Education chair Ann Edge, acknowledgements from chief communications officer Dr. Patricia Hollingsworth, a blessing of the meal by youth pastor Kyle Johnson and live music by the Rocky Mount High School String Ensemble.

Nash-Rocky Mount Public Schools thanked the generous sponsors of the Evening of Academic Excellence, including: Alpha Kappa Alpha Chi Omega Chapter, Alpha Kappa Alpha of NRMPS, Communities in Schools, Delta Sigma Theta Rocky Mount Alumnae Chapter, Nash Community College, Key Printing, Inc., Speight's Trophy Shop, Strategic Twin-Counties Educational Partnership, Tharrington Smith, The Church of the Good Shepherd, Nash County Commissioner Mary Wells, NRMPS Board of Education, NRMPS Central Office Staff, Mt. Zion First Baptist Church, North End Missionary Baptist Church, St. Mark African Methodist Episcopal Church and The Links, Incorporated from the Wilson, Rocky Mount and Tarboro Chapter.

Nash Central High School Honorees:

Christopher Barham                           MaryAnn Hawks                                  Kaylan Privette

Melanie Brueshaber                             Ethan Hunt                                       Anna Shaye Thompson

Sarah Cockrell                                   Alexis Immediato                                Cara Waddell

Zachary Collier                                    Sarah Lamm                                        Danielle Walden

Jackson Cook                                       Brailey Lee                                          Michael Walyko

Brittany Foster                                    Linzi Long                                            Bailey Williams

Amaya Graham                                   Sarah Phillips                                       Lee Winstead


Nash-Rocky Mount Early College High School Honorees:

Daniel Liu                                            Cielo Murillo-Gomez                           Emma Sieracki

Mei Liu                                                 Trina Phan                              


Northern Nash High School Honorees:

Hannah Adcox                                     Tatyana Dunn                                      Margaret Hinson

Janasha Alston                                    Emily Garner                                       Maggie Huddleston

Katherine Artica Banegas                    Lucas Ghiloni                                       Lauren Israel

Natalie Bernat                                     Yadira Gonzalez                                  Marguritte James

Ashlee Brackett                                   Hannah Grant                                     Caitlyn McLaughlin

Jospeh Brake                                       Emily Griffin                                        Owen Phillips

Gabrielle Carter                                  Mollie Griffin                                      Killian Smith

Caitlyn Cooke                                      Davis Hedgepeth                                 Erika Taylor

Coley Corbin                                        Trinity Henderson                               Leah Vinson


Rocky Mount High School Honorees:

Maryam Ahmed                                  Shannon Fogarty                                 Anna-Dreher Miller

Wayne Artis                                        Jesus Garcia                                        Demetrius Morton

James Asbell                                       Ann Parke Godwin                              Henry Osterhout

Brooklynn Bass                                   Rinoa Gonzales                                    Cameron Pettigrew

Alysha Boone                                      Solomon Gonzalez                              Sydney Seaman

Tyler Brice                                          Spencer Harris                                    Meredith Sides

Naudia Brown                                     Mackenzie Hedgepeth                        Jerin Smith

Aaron Buenrostro                               Zachary Highsmith                              Jacob Snyder

Daphne Ching                                     Anne McCray Joseph                          Emma Tedford

Courtney Coley                                   Charles Lane                                       Catherine Wellenhofer

Bridget Dean                                       Michelle Matia                                   Amber Wiggins

Ariel Enciso                                         Teniyah McKnight-Sykes


Southern Nash High School Honorees:

Jeffrey Alvarado                                  Elizabeth Cowart                                 Emily New

Lindsey Askew                                     William Cruz                                       Damian Orloff

Madisyn Baines                                   Joseph Davis                                       Ulysses Puente

Dylan Bottoms                                     Grayson Deans                                    Leanna Ruffin

Cameron Bunn                                    Amelia Gallina                                    Lydia Ruffin

Leonardo Cabral De Leon                   Vanessa Gonzalez-Mendo                   Jacqueline Salinas

Francisco Cazares                               Kylee Herron                                       Renee Sessoms

Zachary Coble                                     Cory Joyner                                         Marco Solana Luna

Raven Colbert                                     Laura Keel                                           Anna Wall


Tar River Academy Honorees:

Brina Battle                                         Anissa Pressley                                    Shaleiyah Smith

Daquan Batts                                      Courtney Silver


Pictured below: The awards students received for being a Superintendent’s Distinguished Scholar.